Walter Wittich JT Award Crop
Aug 21

CHKC Call for Nominations for the 13th Annual JT Award

Dr. Walter WittichThe “JT Award” recognizes significant contributions to the Canadian deafblind community by a deserving individual, consumer group or service provider who has demonstrated excellence in at least one of the categories of:

  • Awareness to the disability of deafblindness,
  • Expansion to available services and programs,
  • Involvement of individuals who are deafblind at all levels.

Joyce Thompson was awarded the JuneFest Award of Excellence in 2010. Thereafter, in her honour, the award was re-named the JT Award. Past winners were:


2011 – Jane Sayer
2012 – Elio Riggillo                         
2013 – Eddy Morton                        
2014 – Joan Mactavish
2015 – Roxanna Spruyt-Rocks
2016 – Cindy Accardi

2017 – Megan McHugh
2018 – Warren Wakefield

2019 – Stan Monroe
2020 – Walter Wittich
2021 – Bonnie Heath
2022 – Penny Bennett

Past nominees not chosen for the award can be re-nominated.

To nominate another individual or group please contact us and include:

  1. the category of the nomination,
  2. how the nominee demonstrates the spirit of the award, and
  3. Include two letters of support.

The award recipient will be officially recognized in September at CHKC’s AGM, but does not need to be present to win/accept the award.

Please submit nominations by Monday, August 28, 2023 to:

JT Award Selection Committee
c/o Canadian Helen Keller Centre
101-422 Willowdale Avenue
Toronto, ON   M2N 5B1
Phone (647) 518-9048